Supervisory Board

The supervisory board of the foundation consists of at least nine members who are appointed to a four-year term by the Governing Mayor of Berlin. With due cause, it is possible to both prematurely dismiss a member from the board as well as to reappoint a member for subsequent terms. The supervisory board elects its own chair and vice-chair. Board members serve on a volunteer basis.

According to the charter of the foundation, the supervisory board’s duties are:
a) to provide for a most efficient and effective realization of the founder’s wishes by supervising and advising the executive board
b) to decide on changes to the charter.

Members of the supervisory board:

  • Sawsan Chebli, State of Berlin Delegate to the Federation Permanent Secretary for Active Citizenship and International Relations
  • Andreas Gram, Former Vice President of the Berlin House of Representatives
  • Dr. Barbara Gügold, former Director of the Institute for the International Education of Students (IES)
  • Erik Kirschbaum, Deputy Director RIAS Berlin Commission
  • Dr. Jürgen Lillteicher, Director Alliied Museum
  • Kirsten Niehuus, Director Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH
  • Dr. Oliver Schmidt, Executive Director Fulbright Commission
  • Notker Schweikhardt, Member of the Berlin House of Representatives
  • Monika Thamm, Former Member of the Berlin House of Representatives
  • Karsten D. Voigt, former Coordinator of Transatlantic Cooperation
  • Susan Woosley, Excecutive Director KCRW Berlin gGmbH

This board’s term will expire June 30, 2022.